Saks Fifth Avenue Ratings and Reviews
Shop Saks.com
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Diane von Furstenberg Julian Wrap Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Saks Fifth Avenue.

Diane von Furstenberg Julian Wrap Dress

Shape-flattering rayon wrap with v-neckline.
  • Three-quarter cuffed sleeves
  • Self tie at waist
  • About 25" from natural waist
  • 85% viscose/15% polyamide
  • Dry clean
  • Made in USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown (26 reviews)
5 stars
16reviews(s)
4 stars
4reviews(s)
3 stars
1reviews(s)
2 stars
4reviews(s)
1 star
1reviews(s)
21 out of 2681%would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Julian Wrap Dress
Review 1 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 45-54
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:June 18, 2011

Good choice

I'm 5'8". Good length, happy with fabric, glad I read reviews. I'm sure it will be my 'go to' dress.
Recommended: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: New York, NY
Gender: Female
Style: Fashion Forward
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:May 9, 2011

So sad that I had to return this

A black wrap dress seemed like the perfect addition to my wardrobe so I was really excited when I ordered this. Unfortunately, I should have paid more attention to the reviews. I am used to the silk jersey DVF wrap dresses, so this rayon fabric felt really rough and cheap to me. Also, the fit of this wrap dress was really different from the silk jersey wrap dresses, which I find to be more flattering and streamlined. This one almost felt dowdy and I felt like I was drowing in the extra material on the bottom (the skirt was both fuller and longer). When I returned the dress at the store the saleslady said she knew exactly what I meant when I complained about the difference in fit between the two materials. Also, I really didn't like that the sleeves were weirdly notched.
Recommended: No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: Portland, OR
Gender: Female
Style: Fashion Forward
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:April 25, 2011

Love It

Love this dress. This dress runs true to size. Please make sure you know this dress is not silk like most of the DVF wrap dresses.
Recommended: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: NY
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:April 18, 2011

great!

I love This product very much!! Cool and Elegant!!
Recommended: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: Stamford, ct
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 45-54
Recommended: No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:April 7, 2011

Cut small

I usually love DVF, but this fabric is super lightweight and seems somewhat transparent. Also, it's a very very low neckline, not really suitable for office or business attire. Would make a better after hours dress.
Recommended: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Style: Feminine
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:April 3, 2011

Fantastic!

I was a bit hesitant at first because I'm used to the soft Silk Jersey that characterizes all DVF Wrap dresses, and this one is not, it's actually viscose.. which is obviously expressed on the description that I failed to read. Nonetheless, the dress is fantastic, the fitting is perfection and is a very versatile piece, I'm looking forward to wearing it this season. You won't regret getting this classic piece!
Recommended: Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Gender: Female
Style: Fashion Forward
Age Range: 35-44
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:March 17, 2011

Show Stopper

This dress is so fabulous. You will wear it so many times to all different events. I love DVF because she creates timeless pieces. All it takes is changing out your shoe and your accessories and you can give this dress a whole new look.
Recommended: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: dallas
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 35-44
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2011

perfect basic black dress

Classic DVF that can be dressed up or down. Love this dress.
Recommended: Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:February 24, 2011

Timeless Black Dress

The dress is timeless and the wrap style will flatteringly drape your figure. The fit is true to DVF size. This dress will serve as a staple in your wardrobe as it can easily be dressed up or down. Good investment!
Recommended: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: cincinnati ohio
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 45-54
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:February 23, 2011

Classic dress forever

I'm 5'4" tall and usually a size 8. I ordered two dresses, a 10 and a 12, because I heard DVF runs tight. The 10 was perfect. With a much needed camisole, this dress can be accessorized to go from business to an evening out. This dress is classic, simple, and elegant, and will remain in my wardrobe for years.
Recommended: Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: Door County, WI
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:February 4, 2011

Love, love, love!

I already had this dress (Julian) in a blk/white print from a few years ago and loved it so much that I knew I would be getting the plain black as well. I finally pulled the trigger and after wearing it, wondered why I waited so long. I am somewhere between a 4 and 6 with DVF but the 4 fits me perfectly...the wrap allows me to adjust where I need to (top...bottom is where I normally go up to a 6 but this flows nicely around my bottom half). Can be a little low cut for day to day but a nice cami underneath will solve that problem.
Recommended: Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Gender: Female
Style: Minimalist
Age Range: 45-54
Recommended: No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Date:January 31, 2011

disappointing

I was hoping for a basic dress that would work anywhere, but both the fit and fabric were disappointing, so I'm sending it back. I'm a solid size 8 on the top half of my body (6 or 8 below), but this dress was really small on top. It wasn't just the wide chest opening that some of the other reviewers cited; it was also the fit through the shoulders and back. Also, like some of the other reviewers, I was disappointed by the fabric. It wasn't something that I would want next to my body. I give it two stars for looking good on the hanger.
Recommended: No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: Delafield, WI
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 35-44
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:January 22, 2011

It's a wrap!

I love DVF! I own this dress and a similar black one with long sleeves....I just can't get enough of a DVF black wrap dress. This dress does run a size small, so I would order up and the material is thin as well, so it is pricey considering it's a basic black dress BUT it is a great dress nonetheless. It is a classic style and can be worn to work and later for a night out on the town. DVF wrap dresses are quite comfortable and always in style!
Recommended: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: Little Rock, AR
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:January 13, 2011

Not made well for the price

I've been eyeing this DVF for years. To my excitement I finally ordered it at Christmas. Unfortunately, after only wearing the dress once the hem has come out. I'm very disappointed in the quality of the dress for the price. The material is very thin. On the positive side, the dress looks great on and is very comfortable. Make sure you use the DVF sizing chart since the dress runs smaller than the size I normally wear (I wear a 6, but ordered a size 10 - I'm 5'11, 135 lbs.). Saks customer service is wonderful. I called and explained my issue and they are going to refund me the cost of the seamstress. Overall, I love the look of the dress but wish I didn't have to deal with the hem issue. Buyers beware....
Recommended: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 35-44
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:December 25, 2010

Fits beautifully!

I LOVE this dress!! I'm a bit pear shaped and this dress ties in at the waist and accentuates, then flows nicely over my lower curves, minimizing them.
Recommended: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: Dallas, Tx
Gender: Female
Style: Feminine
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:December 6, 2010

Finally found the perfect LBD

I agree with other reviewers that the new wraps are more light wieght than the classic DVF dress. However this is part of the reason I love it. It can be worn in the fall/winter over tights yet still keep you cool with bare legs in those hot summer months. I am small framed with a small waist but curvy hips, full chest and prominent derriere. These traits have made it almost impossible to find a little black dress that skims instead of squeezes my figure. This one is more than perfect. I can't wait to show it off.
It is cut extremely low so be prepared to wear a half cami underneath, especially for us busty girls.
Recommended: Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 25-34
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
A Little Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
A Little Small
Runs Large
Date:November 23, 2010

Great investment, order up

I am a very hippy girl (as in width, not crunchy-granola), so I ordered two sizes larger than normal and the dress fits beautifully. The wrap hits in the right place, and I can gain or loose weight with it. It will be a staple in my wardrobe for years to come. It definitely requires a slip, so beware.
Recommended: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Location: Lexington, KY
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 55-65
Recommended: No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Date:November 9, 2010

cut too small

looked cheap not the Diane Von Furstenburg that I remembered 30 years ago. Very unhappy with fabric and cut
Recommended: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Gender: Female
Style: Classic
Age Range: 35-44
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Fit:
True to Size
Runs SmallTrue to Size
True to Size
Runs Large
Date:October 27, 2010

Classic, simple and elegant!

Love my recent purchase. Dress is very flattering. Fabric lovely weight and drape. I love the simplicity of this dress. Classic cut will never go out of style! My only problem with the dress is the neckline is very plunging and I need to sew in a snap. I highly recomend this dress.Love it!
Recommended: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Julian Wrap Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Location: New Orleans, La
Gender: Female
Age Range: 55-65
Recommended: Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Fit:
Too Small
Runs SmallTrue to Size
Too Small
Runs Large
Date:October 19, 2010

loved the dress

I loved this dress. Problem was front top stayed open to far because I am a little busty and a little modest.
Recommended: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2  >>